Brno MotoGP: Marquez tops wet FP3, Guintoli shines

Honda’s Marc Marquez dominated a wet third MotoGP practice at Brno, as Suzuki wildcard Sylvain Guintoli was an impressive third.

Despite no rain falling on track during the 45-minute session and a dry line starting to emerge towards the end, all riders spent the entire session on wet tyres.

Marquez established himself in the lead with his very first lap and improved several times early on, keep a dominant two-second gap over the rest of the field.

His last fast lap was a 2m04.279s, which remained the benchmark time until the finish.

The field gradually closed the gap with Guintoli moving up to second, nine tenths off Marquez’s time, before Yamaha rider Maverick Vinales also improved.

Vinales ended up taking second with a deficit of 0.588s behind Marquez, with Guintoli securing third.

Danilo Petrucci was fourth on the best of the Ducatis followed by the Yamahas of Valentino Rossi and Fabio Quartararo.

Joan Mir brought a second Suzuki in the top 10 in seventh, followed by Pol Espargaro, whose Tech 3 counterpart Miguel Oliveira was ninth. Andrea Iannone (Aprilia) completed the top 10.

Andrea Dovizioso spent session outside of the top 10 and ended up 13th, 2.3s slower than Marquez.

As nobody could set their best time of the weekend in FP3, the 10 automatic Q2 spots were decided based on Friday’s running.

That meant all four Yamaha riders – Quartararo, Vinales, Franco Morbidelli and Rossi – the Hondas of Marquez and Cal Crutchlow, the Ducatis of Dovizioso, Petrucci and Jack Miller, as well as the Suzuki of Alex Rins, all secured their Q2 positions.

Session results:

193 Marc MarquezHonda2’04.279 
212 Maverick ViñalesYamaha2’04.8670.588
350 Sylvain GuintoliSuzuki2’05.1730.894
49 Danilo PetrucciDucati2’05.4101.131
546 Valentino RossiYamaha2’05.7311.452
620 Fabio QuartararoYamaha2’06.2191.940
736 Joan MirSuzuki2’06.3282.049
844 Pol EspargaroKTM2’06.3352.056
988 Miguel OliveiraKTM2’06.3452.066
1029 Andrea IannoneAprilia2’06.3812.102
1135 Cal CrutchlowHonda2’06.5272.248
1243 Jack MillerDucati2’06.5392.260
134 Andrea DoviziosoDucati2’06.5992.320
1421 Franco MorbidelliYamaha2’06.6162.337
1542 Alex RinsSuzuki2’06.7792.500
165 Johann ZarcoKTM2’07.0312.752
1741 Aleix EspargaroAprilia2’07.1142.835
1817 Karel AbrahamDucati2’07.3833.104
1930 Takaaki NakagamiHonda2’07.4143.135
206 Stefan BradlHonda2’07.8723.593
2163 Francesco BagnaiaDucati2’07.9443.665
2253 Tito RabatDucati2’08.1993.920
2355 Hafizh SyahrinKTM2’08.3254.046

Source: Read Full Article