MotoGP issues 2020 provisional entry list

A provisional entry list for the 2020 MotoGP season has been issued, confirming Alex Marquez’s switch to Repsol Honda but not making any mention of Johann Zarco.

Moto2 champion Marquez was made official as Jorge Lorenzo’s Honda replacement on Monday ahead of the start of the two-day post-season test, theoretically completing the 22-rider grid for the upcoming campaign.

However, the possibility of Zarco racing remains as the Frenchman weighs up whether to join the Avintia Ducati squad following the Italian marque’s efforts at persuading him.

For now, incumbents Karel Abraham and Tito Rabat are both listed as Avintia riders, but it’s understood Abraham would be the rider that makes way should Zarco join.

Elsewhere, the start numbers for rookies Marquez, Iker Lecuona and Brad Binder have been confirmed, with all the remaining riders keeping their existing numbers.

Lecuona and Marquez will continue to use the numbers they raced in Moto2, 27 and 73 respectively, but Binder’s usual 41 is already in use by Aleix Espargaro.

The South African has therefore chosen to utilise number 33 for his debut season.

MotoGP – Entry list 2020:
4 Andrea DoviziosoDucati TeamDucati
9 Danilo PetrucciDucati TeamDucati
12 Maverick VinalesMonster Energy Yamaha MotoGPYamaha
17 Karel AbrahamReale Avintia RacingDucati
20 Fabio QuartararoPetronas Yamaha SRTYamaha
21 Franco MorbidelliPetronas Yamaha SRTYamaha
27 Iker LecuonaRed Bull KTM Tech 3KTM
29 Andrea IannoneAprilia Racing Team GresiniAprilia
30 Takaaki NakagamiLCR Honda IdemitsuHonda
33 Brad BinderRed Bull KTM Factory RacingKTM
35 Cal CrutchlowLCR Honda CastrolHonda
36 Joan MirTeam Suzuki EcstarSuzuki
41 Aleix EspargaroAprilia Racing Team GresiniAprilia
42 Alex RinsTeam Suzuki EcstarSuzuki
43 Jack MillerPramac RacingDucati
44 Pol EspargaroRed Bull KTM Factory RacingKTM
46 Valentino RossiMonster Energy Yamaha MotoGPYamaha
53 Tito RabatReale Avintia RacingDucati
63 Francesco BagnaiaPramac RacingDucati
73 Alex MarquezRepsol Honda TeamHonda
88 Miguel OliveiraRed Bull KTM Tech 3KTM
93 Marc MarquezRepsol Honda TeamHonda

Moto2, Moto3 entry lists completed

Entry lists for the 2020 Moto2 and Moto3 seasons have also been issued.

The Moto2 grid has been slimmed down to 30 bikes for the 2020 campaign, with Kalex unsurprisingly supplying the bulk of the field with 22 entries.

Two NTS chassis for the RW team, a pair of factory MV Agustas and four Speed Ups – with Angel Nieto joining the works squad – are the only non-Kalex entries.

Lecuona’s promotion to MotoGP created a vacancy at the Ajo Motorsport team, which has been filled by Japanese rider Tetsuta Nagashima.

SAG has recruited Malaysian rider Kasma Daniel Kasmayudin to replace Nagashima, while Joe Roberts has also been confirmed for a second campaign with American Racing.

In Moto3, a 31-rider field is split between 15 KTMs, 14 Hondas and two Husqvarnas, which will be ridden by Max Racing duo Romano Fenati and Alonso Lopez.

2020 Moto2 grid so far:

Marc VDS

 Sam Lowes


Pons Racing

 Lorenzo Baldassarri

 Augusto Fernandez

Ajo Motorsport

 Jorge Martin

 Tetsuta Nagashima

Speed Up

 Jorge Navarro

 Fabio Di Giannantonio

Intact GP

 Tom Luthi

 Marcel Schrotter

SAG Racing

 Remy Gardner

 Kasma Daniel Kasmayudin

Petronas Sprinta

 Xavi Vierge

 Jake Dixon


 Enea Bastianini

 Lorenzo Dalla Porta

Team VR46

 Luca Marini

 Marco Bezzecchi

Angel Nieto Team

 Aron Canet

 Hafizh Syahrin

American Racing

 Marcos Ramirez

 Joe Roberts

RW Racing

 Jesko Raffin

 Bo Bendsneyder

Gresini Racing

 Nicolo Bulega

 Edgar Pons

Honda Team Asia

 Somkiat Chantra

 Andi Gilang

MV Agusta (Forward Racing)

 Stefano Manzi

 Simone Corsi

2020 Moto3 grid:

Leopard Racing

 Jaume Masia

 Dennis Foggia

Estrella Galicia (Monlau)

 Sergio Garcia

 Ryusei Yamanaka

Petronas Sprinta

 John McPhee

 Khairul Idham Pawi

Team VR46

 Andrea Migno

 Celestino Vietti

Snipers Team

 Tony Arbolino

 Filip Salac


 Darryn Binder

 Maximilian Kofler

Prustel GP

 Jason Dupasquier

 Barry Baltus

Avintia Racing

 Carlos Tatay

Gresini Racing

 Gabriel Rodrigo

 Jeremy Alcoba


 Kaito Toba

 Raul Fernandez

Tech 3 KTM

 Ayumu Sasaki

 Deniz Oncu

BOE Motorsports

 Jakub Kornfeil

 Makar Yurchenko

Max Racing Team

 Romano Fenati

 Alonso Lopez

Angel Nieto Team

 Stefano Nepa

 Albert Arenas


 Niccolo Antonelli

 Tatsuki Suzuki

Honda Team Asia

 Ai Ogura

 Yuki Kunii

Source: Read Full Article